HOW did a young woman who had no interest in God and who was enjoying a promising career find real purpose in life?

“For Years I Wondered, ‘Why Are We Here?’”—ROSALIND JOHN

  • YEAR BORN: 1963
  • COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: BRITAIN
  • HISTORY: ENJOYED A PRESTIGIOUS CAREER

MY PAST:

 I was born in Croydon, South London, the sixth child of a family of nine. My parents were originally from the Caribbean island of St. Vincent. Mother attended a Methodist church. I had no interest in learning about God, although I had an insatiable desire for knowledge. My school vacations were often spent by the local lake, reading numerous books borrowed from the library.

Some years after leaving school, I realized that I wanted to help vulnerable people. I began working with the homeless and those who had physical and learning disabilities. Then I took a university course in health sciences. After graduating, I enjoyed a succession of surprisingly prestigious positions, and my lifestyle became increasingly luxurious. As a freelance management consultant and social researcher, all I needed for work was my laptop computer and access to the Internet. I would fly abroad for a couple of weeks at a time, stay in my favorite hotel, enjoy the beautiful surroundings, and use the spa and gym facilities to keep fit. I really thought I was living. But I never lost my concern for the downtrodden.

HOW THE BIBLE CHANGED MY LIFE:

 For years I wondered, ‘Why are we here, and what is the purpose of life?’ But I never tried to find answers from the Bible. One day in 1999, my younger sister Margaret, who had become one of Jehovah’s Witnesses, visited me with her Witness friend, who showed a personal interest in me. I found myself agreeing to have a Bible study with my sister’s friend, but my progress was very slow, as my career and lifestyle took up much of my time.

In the summer of 2002, I moved to southwest England. There, I began a postgraduate university degree course in social research, with the ultimate goal of earning my doctorate. I started attending the local Kingdom Hall more regularly with my young son. Although I enjoyed higher education, my study of the Bible was bringing me a greater understanding of life’s problems and the solution. I realized the truth of Matthew 6:24, which says that you cannot serve two masters. It had to be either God or riches. I knew I would have to make a decision about my priorities in life.

The previous year, I had often attended a home Bible study group where the Witnesses studied the book Is There a Creator Who Cares About You? * I became convinced that only our Creator, Jehovah, has the solution to mankind’s problems. Now, at the university I was being taught that the meaning of life did not involve belief in a Creator. I was incensed. After two months, I gave up my university course and decided to give more time to spiritual pursuits.

The Bible passage that motivated me to change my lifestyle was Proverbs 3:5, 6: “Trust in Jehovah with all your heart and do not lean upon your own understanding. In all your ways take notice of him, and he himself will make your paths straight.” Learning about our loving God was more rewarding than any material riches and status that a doctorate might bring. The more I learned about Jehovah’s purpose for the earth and the role Jesus played in sacrificing his life for us, the more I wanted to dedicate my life to our Creator. I was baptized in April 2003. After that I gradually simplified my life.

HOW I HAVE BENEFITED:

 My friendship with Jehovah is priceless. I’ve gained real inner peace and joy from knowing him. I also experience much happiness from associating with other true worshippers of God.

My thirst for knowledge continues to be amply satisfied by what I learn from the Bible and from Christian meetings. I enjoy sharing my faith with others. This has become my career, one in which I can really help people, both to experience a better life now and to have the wonderful hope of life in the new world. Since June 2008, I have been sharing in the full-time ministry, and I am happier and more contented than I have ever been. I have found the real purpose of life, and for that I am truly grateful to Jehovah.

